Featured Poetry by Huma Munshi | SISTERHOOD


See on Scoop.itprojectbrainsaver

Love

That love you were looking for,
Did you find it, they ask.
Has the emptiness disappeared?
Is your soul at ease?
Can you breathe?
Can you live?

I reply: my journey is incomplete.
My heart is still searching;
My spirit is still fighting.
But I fight to live
And sometimes I win.

Sometimes I write,
Sometimes I remember
That I am someone, that I matter.
Sometimes I take in all the love
I deserve.

But when I crumble,
I forget myself.
I am nothing,
The world is better off
Without my presence.

The darkness beckons
The silence calls me closer
And I fight
I try to believe
That I am something
And I matter.

Mark Aldiss‘s insight:

Huma Munshi is a writer and poet. She is passionate about addressing inequality through her writing at HumaMunshi on feminism, forced marriage, mental illness, films and her trade union activism. 

See on sisterhoodnetwork.org